The Farnsburg Ruins consist of a vast, former castle complex with breathtaking remnants of the original shield wall, towers, various buildings, and outer walls.
Farnsburg was built in 1330 by the Lords of Thierstein and later acquired by the Habsburg barons of Falkenstein. The barons went on to fight in the war against the Swiss, resulting in a siege of the castle in 1444.
This well-preserved castle changed ownership several times over the centuriesuntil one fateful day in 1709 when the bailiff currently residing there was cast out and the castle set on fire. Afterwards, the castle stones were used to build new castles elsewhere and Farnsburg fell quickly into ruin.
Other characteristics: restaurant, picnic area